#MyMelanin

You said I was not good enough,

You said my skin needed cleansing,

You said I needed brighter coloured clothes, 

You even replaced me with the fair skinned in the office, 

You do not know this,

       I am beautiful.

                ***
I am not going to hate myself, 

I am not going to try bleach,

I am not going to try look like the girl in the magazine,

I am not going to replace my wardrobe, 

I am not going to think of her, she whom you replaced me with as any better,

I am not going to let you forget that, 

      I am beautiful.

               ***
You are the problem, 

You are delusioned,

You are blind,

You are not even sure of humanity,

You are not able to realize that beauty is skin deep,

You are not aware of the oh so beautiful melanin,

You are not going to hear this again from me,

      I am beautiful.

               ***
With this dark skin,

With all the melanin I have,

With all my fluffy seemingly tough hair,

With all the flaws you see in me,

      I AM BEAUTIFUL.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Jane Lily Muthoni says:

    Outstanding piece Lynnet .u have a lot of potential. Utilize it to the maximum. It might be rewarding.

    Like

    1. Rie_Wawira says:

      Thank you so much….I am working on it 🙂 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Cynthia says:

    I love your work Lynnet.keep up the good work

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rie_Wawira says:

      Thank you for your support 🙂 🙂

      Like

  3. iamwashyy says:

    Nice pie. You indeed beautyful

    Like

    1. Rie_Wawira says:

      Thank you Washyy 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. iamwashyy says:

        😊❤ @hashtalk

        Like

Leave a Reply

